A Conversation for Ask h2g2

Recommend a browser , please!

Post 1

Cheerful Dragon

I have been using Netscape 4.7x for a long time now because, being a software engineer, I'm pretty much anti-Micros**t. I've been reluctant to change my browser because most things work with Netscape 4.7x. However, I've recently come across a few websites that state up-front that they will not work with old versions of Netscape. So I took the plunge yesterday and downloaded Netscape 6.2. And that's where the problems started.

Since downloading the new version of Netscape, my computer has locked up repeatedly when I try to access certain sites that were fine with the old version. My profile from the old version has *supposedly* been transferred across, but the new version doesn't seem to be accessing my email properly. And sites that *should* work with the new version, don't. And then there's the fact that the new version was a 27Mbyte download. smiley - sadface

I *know* that version 7.0 is out but, being a software engineer, I don't trust anything with a '0' at the end of the version number. So can anybody recommend a *free* browser (and it *must* be free) that can access everything that IE5 can access. Please provide an appropriate URL!

smiley - tasmiley - cheers

Post 2

aliashell

I have always had the same dilemma as you CD. I try to avoid everything MS. I have always found rather frustratingly that IE is about the best browser around.

I take it you are using a PC? I have dabled with others that do a fairly decent job but can crash when asked to do more than normal.

Mozilla used to always be good but usually suffers the same problems as Netscape as they are based on the same architecture.

Opera is also an OK alternative.

All I can recommend is that you go to download.com and check out all the browsers they have available and see what works best for you.

smiley - smiley

Post 3

Ste