A Conversation for How to Write Bad Poetry

A456653 How to Write Bad Poetry

Post 1

Sad, Mad or Bad? - I always wanted to be a dino, but alas, I'm just old.

http://www.h2g2.com/A456653

This is my first attempt, and I'm not sure if it's what you're after, but I would like to submit it for editting.

It's an alternative look on writing poetry. Any and all constructive comments would be appreciated.

Post 2

Lear (the Unready)

Neither sad, mad, nor bad, in my humble opinion. An enjoyable piece of writing, and I don't see any reason why the Guide shouldn't take it on board as a relevant subject. After all, h2g2 purports to deal with real-life subject matter, and there's no shortage of bad poetry out there in the world.

Your article might benefit from a few illustrations from this immense canon, actually. That might help to flesh it out a bit.

I don't necessarily agree that bad poetry requires less thought than the good stuff. I've personally laboured (in the dim and distant past) for hours on end over pages and pages of what turned out to be complete crap, and it always seemed to get worse the harder I tried... smiley - winkeye

All the best, Lear.

PS - what's a Vogon?

Post 3

Gavroche

While it may sound strange, H2G2 does tend to shy away from Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy references in edited entries. It blurs the lines between fact and fiction, and the guide entries are supposed to be fact. (Consider that the fictional guide supposedly contained factual entries for that fictional universe. So while an entry mentioning Vogons would be fine in DNA's universe's Guide, it doesn't work for the Earth edition).

I like this entry, though I have a desire for it to go on longer. I'd like more methods. One I can think of:

1) Throwing in as many over-used cliches as possible.

As I beat the dead horse
and Fate runs its course
Your lips taste like wine
And we both toe the line

Post 4

Lear (the Unready)