A Conversation for Ask h2g2

Do you like the whooshing sound?

Post 1

SashaQ - happysad

Recently at work I missed a deadline, and I didn't hear the whooshing sound as it went by, as I felt it in my stomach.

I felt better after someone reminded me that I only missed my deadline because the person whose information I was waiting for had missed their deadline first so it was unreasonable of me to expect to be able to complete the task in a few hours instead of a few days...

In general, I'm not keen on the whooshing sound. Douglas Adams famously liked it, though, and quite a few of the people I've worked with seem to as well. Do you like the whooshing sound?

Post 2

Baron Grim

Oh, hells no!

This was well drummed into my head by one of my college professors. I majored in photography. One of the classes I took was called "Multi-media presentations". This was a class on how to make proper, multi-projector slide shows (with FILM! smiley - wow) synced to sound. Our big project was to make a complete "music video" slide show. It was due on the Monday following the Good Friday/Easter weekend. I forgot about the lab being closed early before the weekend and couldn't process my film until that Monday. So, I used the extra time to improve my show. My song of choice was XTC's _Dear God_ so I used the Easter weekend to shoot more shots of Churches and related images. This was a Mon/Wed/Fri class and I turned my project in on Wednesday. I had the best project of the class. My teacher gave me a score of 49 out of 50 minus 20. That was 10 points subtracted per each day I was late, not just each class day. I failed. The professor explained that if this had been a commercial job, it wouldn't matter how well I did the job if it missed a deadline, and this is absolutely true. You miss a deadline as a freelance commercial photographer, they'll never hire you again and your reputation will be destroyed.

Post 3

Bluebottle