A Conversation for Talking Point: Schools and Violence

Violence in secondary schools

Post 1

Mmmminx

I'm a teacher in a secondary school in the UK, and I do love my job a lot and the pupils in the school too, mostly. smiley - winkeye

They have their moments. In the last couple of weeks I've had to break up two fights which started on the spur of the moment as I passed by, (and neither had anything to do with me, honest!).

One I broke up was between two year 7 pupils. I took one of the boys with me, for a chance for him to calm down, the other went into his class. The root cause was some imagined slight which had resulted in name calling .... it was sorted out very quickly after the cooling off time, and the incident was referred to a more senior teacher in the school, as is the protocol.

The other was between two year 10 boys who were having serious fisticuffs, and I think I would've had one or several blows landed on me. Fortunately other teachers were around, and it was stopped. As a result, the two boys are spending a week each in the behavioural support unit within the school, to try to get them to think about their behaviour.

One of these year 10 boys has, in the recent past, actually "squared upto" me. What did I do? I asked him to "Sit down, please, and get on with your work", *sigh*. I asked him to "Please use the door", which he eventually did after flaring his nostrils at me and taking an agressive stance. I had no doubts that he was likely to lay one on me given the slightest reason to, and I did my best to keep my cool. He had his backside in his hands that day. As a result of this he was not allowed into my lessons for a week, and since that time he's been rather pleasant and cooperative in my lessons.