A Conversation for Ask h2g2

So WHO says that you need to wear a tie?

Post 1

Pink Paisley

I bludding HATE ties. Many of my colleagues wear ties. They have no apparant function so far as I can see.

So WHO says that you need to wear a tie? Join my campaign for the abolishmentisation of ties.

PP

Post 2

Mu Beta

I think the World Health Organisation has really overstepped its bounds this time...

B

Post 3

Icy North

I say so.

It marks you out as having a professional approach to your work.

Sadly, I'm a dying breed... smiley - sadface

Post 4

KB

Sadly, you can't judge a book by its cover that way. Some of the most incompetent colleagues I have wear ties. Others don't, yet do a much more conscientious (and competent) job.

Post 5

sprout

It's the only bit of colour in my work clothes (I'm a lawyer). So I say yes as well.

sprout

Post 6

paulh, vaccinated against the Omigod Variant

I managed to avoid wearing ties at work for nearly four decades. I don't like the tightness around my throat. smiley - puff

Designer Geoffrey Beene said that men can get enough color in their apparel by choosing more colorful shirts.

I do have to wear bow ties when I wear a tuxedo, though. Happily, I don't need to do that very often.

Sadly, I'd like to introduce you to Happily. I'm sure you'll get along well once you really how complementary you are. smiley - smiley

Post 7

2legs - Hey, babe, take a walk on the wild side...

But, without a tie, where would you put your tie pin? smiley - ermsmiley - doh

Post 8

KB

There's an answer to that, but I'm not going to give it. smiley - whistle

Post 9

smiley - applausesmiley - snork no .. need... I think I know... what you'd have said... smiley - biggrinsmiley - blush

They do help keep your neck warm... when its cold.. Well they probably help keep your neck warm when its hot too, but that isn't really a Positive thing smiley - erm

Post 10

swl

Ties are the first line of defence against ... medallion man.

Post 11

KB