A Conversation for The Berlin Airlift

A632486 - The Berlin Airlift

Post 1

Lizzy

http://www.bbc.co.uk/h2g2/guide/A632486

Hi Scouts

I think this entry could well fill a gap in the guide.

Lizzy smiley - rose

Post 2

Ormondroyd

Generally, this looks like a pretty good Entry. The main problem at the moment seems to be a GuideML one. I'm not very technically-minded, so I'm not sure if this is just something to do with my browser, but when I look at the Entry I'm seeing half-words at the end of one line and then the whole word at the start of the next: e.g. 'contr' on one line then 'control' below.

Having looked at the HTML, I suspect that the problem may lie with the tag. There are one or two Edited Guide style problems too, but let's sort out that strange effect with the justification first! smiley - weird

Post 3

Monsignore Pizzafunghi Bosselese

Great smiley - biggrin

It's 'Rosinenbomber' rather than 'Rosinenbomben', and I think most of the aircraft actually did land in Berlin.

You could mention the monument which was built in honour of the airlift and the thousands of pilots and crew engaged with it. It's a two-piece monument, with one half of it erected in Berlin, and the other half in Frankfurt/Main. It symbolises the ends of a bridge but the way it has been designed it also could resemble a hand which tries to grab the goods from out of the air.

The Berliners called it the 'Hungerharke' (or 'hunger's rake') because it can also be seen this way.

Post 4

Whisky

Hi there,
Firstly,a very good entry, I'll leave the problems with the justification out of this as I'm sure they'll get sorted out.

However, I did find the first paragraph a little confusing, you start off by talking about sectors in Germany, go on to sectors in Berlin, then return to sectors in Germany. It's a little difficult at points to figure out if you're talking about Germany in general, or Berlin in Particular.

Could you divide this part of the intro into two distinct paragraphs?