A Conversation for h2g2 Feedback

Logging in...and out even.

Post 1

neopropene-junky

Hmmn I'm a student who doesn't own his own computer and so I'm wondering how I'm going to use the various machines that are dotted around the campus to come back to my part of this admittidly fantastic site. Would a log in passworded thing be possible and you could have an option so that it could remember all that stuff if you were only ever using one computer. This is basically me wining about being able to easily use your website since I REALLY WANT TOO! I'm sure I'm not the only person that this applies to as well. Also a log out thing would be useful so that I don't have hundreds of students putting stuff up in my name!

Post 2

Jim Lynn

Passwords are not only possible - the database stores them already. In fact, on our development site, I've already written a login page which lets you type in your researcher number and a password.

But it'll take a little while to put in all the logic to handle this - where to set the password, a logout page, extra security so that if you forget to logout and don't use the site for a few hours it will require you to log back in...

All these are scheduled, but it's just a matter of time. Thanks for your patience.

In the meantime, if you know how to do it you can delete the h2g2.com cookie from your browser to remove your identity, and keep a note of the key=xxx URL you were sent and use that to log in - you don't need to request a new key every time.

Post 3

inorberto

yeah ...

Post 4

Fez

Or even No! Are we all experiencing long teadious waits while the h2g2 site down loads. It is without doubt the slowest I've found and what could be a great site is made frustratingly slow somewhere. I am tempted not to log on again and the fact that so many questions have not had replies for months/years makes me think this site will get abandoned if its not speeded up somehow.