A Conversation for Ask h2g2

Why is Smith a common surname

Post 1

C Hawke

OK, if English surnames reflect past occupations why is Smith so popular. OK a small rural mediaeval village, it would have a blacksmith, maybe a siler smith but not many others compared to say bakers, butchers, and mostly farmers. So why are the surnames Baker, Butcher and Farmer more common than Smith?

This is keeping me up at nights.....

CH

Also Capital X at the start of words - er Why? everyone pronounces it the same as a Z.

Post 2

Still Incognitas, Still Chairthingy, Still lurking, Still invisible, unnoticeable, missable, unseen, just haunting h2g2

I am a supply teacher and as a consequence I get to do a lot of differant school registers.I can say hand on heart that Smith isn't as common a name as you might think.Neither is Baker or Farmer.The spelling of first names however is as varied as the weather.
I am continually in trouble for pronouncing names wrong but when the spelling bears no resemblance to the pronounced name it is confusing.I am not referring to ethnic names at all.I think many of the spellings may be due to confusion based on a high alcoholic intake prior to registration of the birth.The differant spellings of Kylie number above 20 already.

Post 3

C Hawke

Ah, but how many of these Kylies actually, on the birth certificates are spelt differently, is it not a case of a 11 year old girl realising the true horror of being a Kylie, starts to insist that it is spelt Kiélé (or whatever)?

CH

Post 4

Cheerful Dragon