A Conversation for Ask h2g2

I CAN go faster than light

Post 1

soulman

If a train is travelling at 50 mph and I run down the train at 10 mph, my ground speed will be 60 mph.
Therefore, if I'm in a rocket travelling at the speed of light and I turn on a light in the rocket, although the speed of light is just that inside the rocket surely, outside and relative to say a fixed point light is now travelling at twice the speed??? or have I got this wrong.

Post 2

Interestman-ing happy!

Well, it does sound logic, but im no expert. Ask Einsteinsmiley - smiley

Post 3

~ jwf ~ scribblo ergo sum

If the light is contained within the ship it will bounce
around inside at its usual speed.

But if you had headlights on your spaceship the light would
just bunch up on the front and create drag.

smiley - galaxysmiley - rocket

~jwf~

Post 4

Deb

smiley - headhurts

Post 5

Interestman-ing happy!

Ok, maybe you should send this to the NASA and see what they think about it smiley - ok?

Post 6

badger party tony party green party

Hi soulman, nice to have such an interesting question. Your logic is sound but light cares not for logic. Light farts in the general direction of logic, light makes jokes about logic in a language logic cant understand and makes rude hand gestures when loic isnt looking.

If you are on the ship you would see light travelling from its ource at the spped of light, not because logic says it will but because that's the pysical construction of the universe. Physics has shown us how light changes if the object emiiting the light is travelling towards the observer or away from the observer, but that it still travels at the same speed relative to the observer.

Its all very complicated to explain (well too complicated for me to explain) but does fit with the laws of physics very neatly. Someone whose more comfortable with this subject will be along soon to make it all crystal clear.

Post 7

Alfster