A Conversation for Ask h2g2

Belief without proof

Post 1

swl

Probably been done before, but is there anything that you believe but cannot prove?

For example,

- There is no God
- The Jam were better than The Police
- Every animal has a conscience

Belief without proof

Post 2

RadoxTheGreen - Retired

http://www.buddhistchannel.tv/index.php?id=70,5395,0,0,1,0

smiley - smiley

Belief without proof

Post 3

Primeval Mudd (formerly Roymondo)

When the Flying Spaghetti Monster first turned up I thought 'Wow, brilliant.' As Pastafarianism became more widespread I thought 'Yeah, the joke's wearing a tad thin' but I'm coming to the opinion that Pastafarianism might be one of the most important movements around.

Belief without proof

Post 4

Researcher U197087

I almost started a thread yesterday with the premise "this house believes that You Do Something To Me is the most beautiful record ever produced", though it's the only thing Paul Weller's done as a solo artist I actually like. It entirely lives up to its title, I think I'm going to have it at my funeral (The Police are *so* better than The Jam though).

I used to believe that dark matter is the protrusion into our universe of matter sent through black holes to the beginning/end of time. Good luck with that!

I also used to believe there could be a mathematical formula for working out the orbital distances of the planets; someone whose name I can't remember had one which sort of worked, until you got to Uranus.

Dr David Kelly was assassinated, Hutton was compromised.

The children are our future http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMK5tmUMwHI

Ipswich Town will make it to automatic promotion this year, Norwich will go down.

I think I'm pretty clever sometimes.

... and Vista Service Pack 1 will solve everything smiley - laugh

Belief without proof

Post 5

Mu Beta

Natural Selection...

Gravity...

The Big Bang...

I don't believe any of these have been proven, yet.

Oh, and nighthoover, of course.

B