A Conversation for British Army Headgear

Peer Review: A853986 - Army Headgear

Post 1

Who?

Entry: Army Headgear - A853986
Author: Who? - U202489

I know there are more items than this, but I have little or no experience of them.

I think.

A853986 - Army Headgear

Post 2

Stuart

Another interesting article about the British Army. I think its covers most type of headgear. However, I would dispute your description of the standard beret being Royal Blue. Royal Blue is comparatively bright, easily recognisable as blue. The Navy Blue beret I wore could be mistaken as being black, until it is seen next to the black beret of the Royal Armoured Corp, then the difference becomes obvious.

The only true blue berets I ever came across where those of the UN and the Army Air Corp and both of them were a pale blue.

Regards

Stuart

A853986 - Army Headgear

Post 3

Who?

No, it IS Royal Blue as described on the item name. However, it is only the description of the colour, the exact shade varied a lot. It varied even more with age and whatever use it was put to. Some of the REME berets had a distinct brown hue after a few weeks.

A853986 - Army Headgear

Post 4

Stuart

Sorry Who, but in my 22 years, 116 days in the Army I have never come across a Royal Blue beret, unless its changed in the last fifteen years. Most, if not all of the Infantry, REME, RA, Royal Signals and RE all wore Navy Blue berets. They may take on a different hue with age and wear, but the original colour remains Navy Blue.

If you have a graphics programme you can compare Royal Blue with Navy Blue using RGB colours. An approximation of Royal Blue is 26,15,153. Navy Blue is closer to 3,3,50

Regards

Stuart

A853986 - Army Headgear

Post 5

Who?

OK I give in. I've changed the entry too.

A853986 - Army Headgear

Post 6

Stuart

Sorry to be pedantic about this Who, but the colour is Navy Blue. Think of the colour of a sailors bell-bottom trouser or a Police uniform. That's Navy Blue.