A Conversation for SEx - Science Explained

SEx: Does freezing dead bodies kill any diseases they may have?

Post 1

garethh

I have pet rats. I am getting a pet snake over the weekend and am wondering if it's safer to feed frozen mice vs live mice. Feeder mice can be carriers of the disease so I want to be as safe as possible.

On a more fun note, I've just watched the series Dr.Stone after watching its teaser in an ad on Apknite so I wonder if a human body that had been preserved in ice for decades suddenly thawed, could that cause their introduction of (Previously extinct) deadly diseases into society?

Post 2

Teasswill

I'm not an expert but I believe both bacteria & viruses can survive being frozen. But is there a disease you're thinking of that affects both mice & snakes?

Post 3

Orcus

Mmm.

Not really, it *might* kill some, but not others - think about the rule for not re-freezing thawed meat - it's because bacteria and other bugs (e.g. fungi) that have colonised it can still grow slowly in the deep freeze and will release their toxins slowly also. Hence - it's a bad move.

However.... of course it *does* slow that progression down. So it's better than feeding an unfrozen dead mouse.

Most pet stores that sell such things have freezer's full of frozen dead rodents, I expect that's fairly safe or they wouldn't do it.

Post 4

Orcus

>On a more fun note, I've just watched the series Dr.Stone after watching its teaser in an ad on Apknite so I wonder if a human body that had been preserved in ice for decades suddenly thawed, could that cause their introduction of (Previously extinct) deadly diseases into society?<

In principle, yes. I once saw a documentary on some WW1 era bodies found frozen up in Iceland or somewhere similar. They dated from the era of the Spanish Flu and they took *extreme* precautions for that very reason.

Post 5

Orcus