This is the Message Centre for Beatrice

My fitness pal

Post 1

Beatrice

Well, my weight loss program is going well so far, but my nutrition advisor suggested I download an app called My Fitness Pal as a means of recording all the food I eat. It automatically calculates all the nutritional elements such as carbs, sugar etc.

I did snigger at the DNA echo of "You Plastic Pal who's fun to be with!"

It also records what exercise you take, and nets this off your daily calorie intake. I was a bit dubious when it told me my daily allowance was only 1200 calories (to lose a pound a week? Really???) but I did get to utter the immortal line "My fitness pal wont let me have sex!" this morning, as that isn't on its list of recognised exercises. Pah!

Also shocking is that 1 glass of fruit juice exceeds the daily sugar quota.

My fitness pal

Post 2

Sho - employed again!

I'm not a nutrition expert, and I'm not a fitness expert but 1,200 calories a day sounds more like a crash diet to me than something that you can lose 1lb a week with.

Good luck with the weightloss though, something I'm finding increasingly harder as I get older.

My fitness pal

Post 3

Rev Nick

I am absolute carp with health numbers ... calories, cholesterol, blood pressure ... but even to me, 1,200 seems sparse for an active adult. And yeah Bea, I know you to be pretty active. (not referring to nekkid dances, etc smiley - winkeye)

Still, good luck with your plastic pal who doesn't recognize obvious 3-letter-words as real heart and health enhancers

My fitness pal

Post 4

Beatrice

As I said, it does allow you to add exercise even walking the dog, and it will up the calorie allowance accordingly. i think my nutritionist was trying to shock me about the amount of sugar and carbs in my handbag standby of a mini box of raisins...

My fitness pal

Post 5

KB