A Conversation for Heroin

Nice article

Post 1

Orcus

Very good stuff, I'm impressed.

Just one little quibble. As a chemist I'm a bit concerned with the line 'diluted morphine with acetyls'. What is that supposed to mean? It bears no relation to chemical reality smiley - erm

Nice article

Post 2

Felonious Monk - h2g2s very own Bogeyman

I think he means the reaction of morphine with acetic anhydride, which of course would give heroin.

Just an observation: codeine is converted to morphine in the body by an enzyme which 10% of people lack. That is why when I get one of my 'orrible 'eads, I take a couple of 'aspirates' instead of relying upon paracetamol/codeine mixtures. I am almost certainly one of the 10%, unfortunately

FM

Nice article

Post 3

Soothsaya