A Conversation for Alcoholic Ginger Beer

Yippee!

Post 1

Toccata

Something I can brew in a miniscule flat smiley - biggrin

I loved this as a kid, Just got to sort some bottles now......

Yippee!

Post 2

TheFoghorn

I´ve done it, gone and started a plant today. It´s picnic time and all we need is lashings of ginger beer!

Yippee!

Post 3

avon-gal

I made this last week but bottled it in old 2lt lemonade bottles.
I have to keep releasing the gas from the bottles.
Can you tell me if this is right to keep doing it? If I don't, I'm scared they might explode but as this is my first attempt at anything like this, all help much appreciated!!smiley - biggrin

Yippee!

Post 4

nzhippychick

This recipe although delicious, provides only slight alcoholic content if that is what youre aiming for- not much more than fruit juice about 1%

For those who are having trouble with the bottles exploding for filling with too much gas. Try alternating the sugar and ginger eash day rather than both each day. I have used this or a similar recipie many times to find my bottles explode or fizz too much losing most of the drink. I followed the advice from an experianced ginger beer maker and alternated the sugar and ginger days. I then got a drink with little sediment, that did not explode or fizz uncontrollably when opened. The Best batch of all the brews I've tried. I will not go back now. Try it for just one brew and see the difference for yourself.smiley - ok

Yippee!

Post 5

ghost123uk