A Conversation for writers' bloc

About Time...

Post 1

The Doctor

Hi
Just to get the ball rolling, I am a writer who has had some success in the horror field with shorter pieces. At present, I am writing a sit-com concept and opening episode for the BBC, a film script, 3 short horror tales, a novel and a novella - mostly humour, very dark.

Anyone else?

About Time...2

Post 2

Chris M

Glad to hear of someone with a bit of experience and as prolific as yourself. I personally have only just made the decision to return to writing, which I pretty much gave up when I finished school ten years ago, in favour of taking (Which I Do Not Condone In Any Way Whatsoever, It Was Purely A Statement Of Fact, I Swear (And When I Say Swear, I Refer Only To Making An Oath To Be Truthful, Not Cursing Or Defaming Anyone In Any Way (Can this Digression Ever End?))))
Ahhh. anyway, back to the point. While I was at school I had a shot at writing scripts for little comedy revues with my mates in Drama class, which were spoofs of the original series of Star Trek: It worked well to start with, and people laughed, but as with most ideas, after 5 shows it began to have the smell of a horse about it.
I have written a treatment for a screenplay that capitalised on my experiences over the last 10 years, and hopefully may get started soon on a new one with a much different direction, and hopefully funnier than the last, but that, besides numerous failed music projects, a bit of DJing, a cartoon for Private Eye (rejected),
and one article about my home town for the guide, is that.
I've finally got some motivation to go ahead and write, and I'm wondering - how do you that first page? I find I'm one of those people who starts well but gets delete-happy if I get so much as a sniff that it's not working.

About Time...2.2

Post 3

Chris M

P.S. I credit you with the intelligence to fill in the blanks, even if they don't. smiley - smiley

About Time...2.2

Post 4

The Doctor

Hi