A Conversation for Earth

Length of Earth day

Post 1

Researcher 164433

Of course the length of Earth's sidereal day, approximately 23.9345 hours (or 23 hours, 56 minutes, and 4.1 seconds), would be the more useful figure. The fact that there are 24.0000 sidereal hours in the day is more of a definitional than informational nature.

Length of Earth day

Post 2

Hilarious Joke

I think they should have both entries, the human working day and the actual day.

Length of Earth day

Post 3

Researcher 206108

if 23 hours, 56 minutes, and 4.1 seconds is a sidreal day, would it mean that we are actually running short by a day every year, which means we add 4 days every leap year?
Explain this to me please, I am a novice in this field.
Thank you.

Length of Earth day

Post 4

Cefpret

For the human life, the 24 hours day is the most important one. This is the time between two sunsets.

The sidereal day is the time of one Earth rotation. It's different because Earth does not only rotate but also move around the sun. The 'year' is effectively another day. Imagine an Earth that isn't spinning at all: Then one year would mean one day. However, this 'year-day' is working in the opposite direction: The movement of the sun in the sky would be retrograde.

This 'additional' day moves forward very slowly and -- because it's retrograde -- makes our ordinary day to come to an end later than one rotation, approximately four minutes later. This yields our 24 hours day.

The leap year is something very different. Because the year is not a whole-numbered multiple of a 24-hours day, we have to introduce leap years to ensure that spring begins on 21st march every year, even in 1000 years in the future.

Length of Earth day

Post 5

J'au-æmne

(just to complicate things, my geophysicist boyfriend points out that the Earth does not rotate on its axis in a uniform manner. Hence the occasional 'leap seconds' that one gets at the end of the year)

Length of Earth day

Post 6

J'au-æmne