A Conversation for RISC OS Computers

X versus the PC

Post 1

Jerome

I've been programming for about 20 years, 15 professionally. It is difficult to think of a time when some SIG of Macs, Amigas or whatever try to show haw their pet machine is better than a PC and how it should take over the world.

Well here is a lesson in business reality for you:

1. I'm not going to buy machines from a monopoly supplier. All parts of a PC can be supplied from several suppliers.

2. Computer technology of similar price goes at about the same speed.

3. There are several operating systems for the PC, Microsoft is a very convenient one.

4. Having used Macs, PCs and various other lesser known devices, all computers crash.

5. The term PC as in IBM PC refers to an arrangement of items that can range from a hand held device to a 32 way server cluster. Why should I retrain my PC techs on several different technologies?

6. It is interesting to note that when software is initially transfered from a lesser platform to the PC it generally needs a year or so to get its act together, before it is serious competition.

With introduction of browser based applications niche machines may make a resurgence. But who cares...

X versus the PC

Post 2

Phil

You don't buy machines from a monopoly suplier, yet you're happy to do this with the OS?

X versus the PC

Post 3

Bruce

So all PC OS's come from M/soft?

Someone had better tell Linus, I don't think he knows he's working for Billsmiley - winkeye

;^)#

X versus the PC

Post 4

Phil

The implication in the statement that Microsoft OS' are convienient is that the first poster would rather get the OS from this monopolist source rather than somewhere else. Shame really.