A Conversation for 3D Stereograms

Peer Review: A2307269 - 3D Stereograms

Post 1

Farlander

Entry: 3D Stereograms - A2307269
Author: Farlander - Hitman III: Contracts hits stores in April! - U206300

erm, here i go again...

i'd be grateful if somebody with a more solid foundation in physics looked through this, because i left it all behind when i left school smiley - winkeye. and although i've tried to proofread this as thoroughly as possible, i'm sure there are still typos. so...

and just for the record: yeah, i can see 3d pictures.

A2307269 - 3D Stereograms

Post 2

McKay The Disorganised

Physics ain't my bag, but this all reads OK to me. (I'm not a proof-reader though. I just read for legability and understanding.)

smiley - ok

smiley - cider

Post 3

Farlander

thanks! do you think i should include an example of an ascii stereogram, or do you think that would make people go cross-eyed?

Post 4

Gnomon - time to move on

I think an ASCII autostereogram would be cool! smiley - cool

It looks to me as if the paragraph "Why can I see in 3D" should be moved to much earlier in the entry, since it explains how normal 3d vision works. Perhaps put it right at the start after the introduction.

You might like to mention in the hints on looking at autostereograms, that the process involves doing two contradictory things: the eyeballs must turn to point at an imaginary object in the distance, but the lenses in the eyes must focus on the page, which is closer than the imaginary object. It is this conflict that makes it so hard for people without practice.

Some typos:

Land improved on du Haron's --> Land to improve on du Haron's
holograms) --> holograms).

smiley - ok

Post 5

Researcher 524695

If you're going to mention lenticular pictures, it should surely be mentioned that the first (hardback) edition of Douglas Adams's "So Long And Thanks For All The Fish" featured on its cover a lenticular picture of a seal/plesiosaur, for no adequately explored reason.

Post 6