A Conversation for Talking Point: Computer Games

I LOVE gaming!

Post 1

Crickett

Could we turn a trend to our advantage, and teach advanced concepts via the medium of gaming?

I can't see why not. A lot of children these days use technology in learning environments. I have found myself that I am better at doing things in "real" life because i have got better at doing them via gaming, so if it works with catching a ball, or playing tennis, then it might work for advanced physics.

Have you ever experienced a beneficial effect after playing a computer game?

Absolutely. I can now actually hit a tennis ball with a racket which I have never managed to do. Also, ten pin bowling. I am not a professional by any stretch of the imagination, but I am a darn sight better than I used to be!

Do you think teenagers would be turned off if they knew a computer game was 'educational'?

Yes. I would be! smiley - smiley

Do you think that we should now accept gaming as a necessary part of growing up?

Probably. I can't see how children would not be exposed to it in some way.

Ever come up with an idea for a great game that won't rot your brain?

No, but now you've suggested that, I might consider it!

Do you worry about the detrimental effects of gaming 'violence' (guns, war etc.) on youngsters?

Well, forget the youngsters! What about us?! Some of the games are so realistic now that people might suffer from trauma from the violence and blood and guts. People can be very impressionable, so while I believe gaming is fine, there needs to be some control over it.

Is the recent trend for 'brain training' games just a promotional fad?

I hope not.

As original gamers now hit middle age, is it time to embrace all aspects of gaming as a daily part of our lives?

I already have thank you! I exercise daily with my Wii Fit, and I find the boxing simulations the best thing for stress relief!

I LOVE gaming!

Post 2

GarudaJones

Nice summation Crickett.