A Conversation for Talking Point: Life's Little Dilemmas

ethical?

Post 1

Farlander

i think i'm suffering from split personality, in that i am both a 'perfect angel' and an awful devil at the same time. let me explain.

you see, i'm a research student, so all of my work is done in the laboratory. the biggest temptation i've ever had to face in all my life (honestly) is - fraud. the thing with research and experiments is that things sometimes just don't turn out the way you want it to. even when you *know* you' supposed to get such-and-such results. and when it gets bad enough, when you've done it multiple times and it keeps on failing, there are times when you are just tempted to fake your results so that they show what you know should be the results.

i must confess that, being human, this temptation plagued me all through my honours year when i was trying valiantly to get something to work the way it should. i'd open my files with the photographs, toy with the idea... and then set it all aside. of course, i eventually decided that if i ever started on something like this, that i would eventually make a habit out of me, and one day someone would catch me and that would be the end of my career. so i never did cheat. i swear. (oh, and things *did* pick up sometime after that, and my stuff *did* end up working after all. and i got an 'a' for honestly explaining in my thesis why the remaining bits *didn't* work)