A Conversation for Tai Chi Chuan

Tai Chi

Post 1

Researcher 212446

I liked what you wrote about Tai Chi and thank you for a lot of info I did not have. I am just beginning to be interested in this art. While I spent two months with my daughter in Brasilia, yes, capital of Brasil, I had lessons with a Chilean lady called Erika. She had learned from an old Chinese Lady and taught beautifully. She mentioned something I thought interesting to add to your article. She said Tai Chi was very good for training the memory, or re-activating it in the case of elderly people, because you have to remember sequences of movements and then translate them into actions. I found it quite difficult, but even when done imperfecty on my part, very satisfying and relaxing and I even lost weight! Good luck to you and regards from 212446

Tai Chi

Post 2

Researcher 223102 A'ine

I would appreciate any information regarding classes in the Central Scotland area.as I think Tai Chi practice would help me regain my health and fitness 50+

Tai Chi

Post 3

Barneys Bucksaws

Hello! I learned Taoist Tai Chi, developed and taught by Master Moi. Check out this site www.taoist.org

Tai Chi

Post 4

Barneys Bucksaws

Hello! I learned Taoist Tai Chi, developed and taught by Master Moi. Check out this site www.taoist.org

Tai Chi

Post 5

wujipaul

A fine article. So few people recognise Taiji for what it is, or rather what it should be.
I teach Taiji from martial principles and find that my classes are very small as too many people want to learn 'that nice healthy dance they do...'
Anyhoo.... the tired legs thing? As you begin training you find in any exercise system that it takes a little time to grow accustomed to the use of different muscle groups. Taiji is no different. After a while your thighs grow stronger and so the feeling of jelly legs tends to go away. Until you strat to 'up the ante' and work on a new technique/method. Then hey presto - jelly legs-the sequal.