A Conversation for The Blasted Heath : A Sanctuary for Challenged Gardeners

Question re compost.

Post 1

I'm not really here

I seem to have smothered all the microbes that turn rubbish into compost. smiley - sadface I hadn't been turning the heap often enough it seems, and part of it is now a slimey mess. I discovered this when I very efficiently actually moved the heap so that it could have a really good turn. Is it too late for the slime to become good compost, or do I need to chuck it away and start again? I think the problem is probably the grass clippings, but I don't know what else to do with them. Can you help?

Question re compost.

Post 2

Woman with a stick (called Stick) [Muse of Rich people}

I'm a bit of a novice myself and I luckily inherited a garden that had hens on so I've got a nice load of worms to chomp my compost.

I read that you need to mix in loads of paper or cardboard in with grass clippings to de-slime them. You can buy special stuff to compost grass too I think...

Question re compost.

Post 3

I'm not really here

Paper and cardboard? Worth a try, I have a cardboard box that got wet in all the rain at the weekend, I'll try it. smiley - smiley Thanks.

Question re compost.

Post 4

Wilfrid is 42 (1x7x3+0+21)

Don't forget the best compost accelerator of them all - a couple of sackfuls of good stable manure !!

Question re compost.

Post 5

I'm not really here

Oh yes. smiley - sadfacesmiley - laugh I'll see if I can find some. smiley - smiley

Question re compost.

Post 6

Felonious Monk - h2g2s very own Bogeyman

Probably well past the compost making time now, but I'd suggest you buy a pack of 'Garotta' (not a gory Spanish form of execution, btw). This will help your compost break down much more rapidly.

Also, grow tree lupins. You can add some of these into the compost and they provide loads of nitrogen which helps the stuff to break down.

FM

Question re compost.

Post 7