A Conversation for Being Pretentious

grrrrr

Post 1

La Justine

I hate you. I was going to do a guide to being pretentious and now you beat me to it. grrr. But I'm a student at Cambridge, so I should be more of an expert! I'm still gonna do my own guide... it was going to be very much along tyhe lines of yours actually.
I haven't donbe much yet (saving it for after exams) but my website is at [URL removed by moderator]
Justine

grrrrr

Post 2

Showpony

Apologies, Cambridge under-grad.

You could always do a doctoral post-modern pretentious thesis.

smiley - winkeye

grrrrr

Post 3

Showpony

By the way - best of luck with your exams.

And I look forward to reading your article on being pretentious. I would never claim to have the monopoly on it. That would be just too much.

grrrrr

Post 4

La Justine

Thanks! will need luck.
well, if you don't claim the monopoly on pretentiousness you're not taking it seriously. If you are truly pretentious you must believe you are the only one who is.

"Is arithmetic synthetic?"
(Cambridge Philosophy Tripos part II exam question)

grrrrr

Post 5

Showpony

Dunno about that. The post-modern pretentious thinker must readily accept that current orthodoxy (ie: set out by the person in question) is not necessarily definitive. The science of pretention should allow for the development of belief.

So nyah!

Oh - and yes, arithmetic is synthetic. Some sort of horrendous nylon/rayon hybrid. Bloomin' awful thing it is.

grrrrr

Post 6

La Justine

well, but what is the difference between the word "water" and its extension?
eh?

I have just registered the domain
[link removed by moderator]

grrrrr

Post 7

Showpony

Pressure. And spelling.

grrrrr

Post 8

La Justine

i meant the domain [URL removed by moderator]
I think it's quite cool

grrrrr

Post 9

Showpony

Ah, I see. Sorry.

I'm afraid it's been moderated...

grrrrr

Post 10

La Justine