A Conversation for Mac OS and Windows

Mac Rulez :-P

Post 1

Silly Willy

Especially Mac OS X (10.1)

Post 2

Janet_EIS

Well, of course, but why 10.1 particularly? Still on 9.1 because of work apps.

Post 3

Janet_EIS

Well, of course, but why 10.1 particularly? Still on 9.1 right now.

Post 4

Silly Willy

When I first got my iBook it came with both 9.1 and OS X. To start with I used 9.1 - I couldn't see the point in an OS in which I'd have to load another OS over the top just to use old applications. But the more I looked at stuff, the more I realised that essentially OS X has done what Linux has been threatening to do for years. It takes the rock-hard, and efficient core of Unix and places a bloody atrractive UI over the top. And its advantage over Linux is that when it messes up it doesn't drop-out to a command line.

However, I'm a Mac newbie with much more experience with a PC...

Post 5

Janet_EIS

I feel so behind the times. Been using a Mac for 9 years, use PCs at university as there is no choice unless you want to walk for 15 minutes to use a machine which isn't networked in the art building, where there's none of the reference material I need. Thought about taking my PowerBook, but the thought of lugging it across London on the tube is not appealing. I'm likely to drop or forget it, if I don't get it stolen!

I've only seen info about OSX in magazines some time ago and it didn't look too appealing. However, I glanced over someone's shoulder at work (where I recently returned after maternity leave) and OSX looked different from previews - apps down the right and not anywhere near as ugly as I'd thought.

We're waiting for M$ Office before upgrading at work. Is everything you need OS X native? If not, is it easy enough to drop back into 9?

Post 6

Janet_EIS

Correction: apps on the left. I still can't tell my right from left, don't think I ever will be able to now...

Post 7

Silly Willy