This is the Message Centre for fords - number 1 all over heaven

My vegan adventure

Post 1

fords - number 1 all over heaven

So I decided to try out veganism again after discovering that I have a lactose intolerance. I've been using LactoFree products for a few months but I was still feeling bloated and bunged up (don't worry I won't go into any more detail smiley - tongueout), so I decided that I'd try ditching the dairy completely. I also have an egg intolerance so going vegan doesn't fill me with as much trepidation second time around!

Four days in and I'm pleasantly surprised at how good I feel. I'm not as bloated as I was, I'm starting to lose weight, my sinuses are starting to unblock (I had sinusitis a while back and it never truly went away) and I'm not missing cheese as much as I thought I would. This might actually work out! smiley - biggrin

I started my vegan reboot on Monday after hitting Twitter and randomly asking people about vegan wine and cheese, where I got a fantastic response and lots of great suggestions for alternatives. I even got a tweet back from the actor Paul Higgins, who recommended Majestic Wine Warehouse as a great source of vegan wine smiley - cheers

Feeling a lot better about life without cheese, I finished off the last of the LactoFree, bought some soya milk and perfected the art of making coffee with Alpro instead of cow's milk. Tomorrow I'm going to hit the health food shops and stock up on alternatives such as Sheese (vegan cheese made in Rothesay and highly recommended by many) and other dairy style products, egg alternatives for baking and any other goodies I can find.

As my first attempt at veganism was about 15 years ago, it really is so heartening to see the progress made with vegan food this time round. I'm constantly surprised by how many products I'm already eating are vegan anyway, which is definitely making the transition a lot easier.

My vegan adventure

Post 2

2legs - Hey, babe, take a walk on the wild side...