A Conversation for The Zone System

Thankyou

Post 1

garbled

I'm a beginner to photography and found your article interesting, informative and thought-provoking. I've read through a few photography books, magazines etc and while many list the aperture and shutter speed for specific photos, I haven't until now found a good explanation of how best to decide on which settings will suit a particular scene.
And now, if I may, a question ...
Should I rush out and buy a light meter to allow me to, for example, see people who are standing in front of windows in my pictures; or would it be possible to successfully use the spot-metering facility on my basic modern SLR to the same effect?
Thanks again for the article ... it's left me feeling pretty motivated smiley - smiley

Thankyou

Post 2

garbled

apologies for replying to my own reply before you got a chance...
I just had a look at your site and with your artice in mind, I'm finally starting to see the attraction of b&w photography!

Thankyou

Post 3

$u$

Hi there garbled.

I can't see any reason why you shouldn't use the spot meter in your camera to take readings. The only point to remember is that you must take the reading from the same direction as you will take the photograph from, so you have the same incident light falling on the subject.

In general, it's better to learn to make the best use of the equipment you have than to buy more. A handheld light meter is useful but certainly not essential if you have a modern camera with light meter. The only other piece of (pretty cheap) equipment you might want to consider is a grey card, which you can place in front of your subject, to take a reading from, to give you the mid grey reading.

Oh... and black and white photography is lots of fun, and highly recommended.smiley - winkeye

Sus smiley - ufo

Thankyou

Post 4

Stretchy

Hi Garbled,

Glad you liked the article - thanks for your comments.