A Conversation for Stupidity and evolution

Evolution today

Post 1

Tempest

I would say that the reason that there are so many people with no survival instinct is that via communications we have defeated evolution: almost everyone has had children by the end of their life whether through meeting someone naturally or by lonely hearts columns etc. This means that such flaws are increased in the human genepool, as are merits such as intelligence.

Evolution today

Post 2

iaoth

So you're saying that evolution has only stagnated not that we're getting dumber and dumber? That could be the case, of course. Also, it might just be that one can't fit enough human generations into the time frame in which civilised society resides for evolution to take effect. I find that more likely, but hey, what do I know about evolution? I'm a computer programmer for god's sake! I'm not trying to imply that I'm some sort of programmer/crusader combo or anything of the sort. Heck, I'm an agnostic for god's sake! There's an oxymoron for you. smiley - smiley

Evolution today

Post 3

Tempest

Well, I'm hardly an expert either, but it would seem to be the case that society has diversified to a ridiculous extent - loom hard enough and you can find any type of person you want.

Evolution today

Post 4

Nema Fakei

Looming gets you nowhere. Well, not in your case.

Evolution still occurs - the intelligent are (usually, in MEDCs) more prosperous, and thus can afford to improve chances of success for other intelligent offspring. Sociely is evolving very subtly - and remember that it is not just human species, but also its social systems that is in evolution.

Evolution today

Post 5

Tempest