This is the Message Centre for Orcus

I seem to be into this gardening thing

Post 1

Orcus

Having bought our new house back in September I've finally - for the first time in about 4 years - had the chance to do some proper gardening, something that I found to my shock that I enjoyed when I bought my first house and was required to do it unless I wanted a jungle as my back garden.

Been growing seeds as I like to do it from scratch and if all goes well we'll have a stunning garden and a full freezer by the autumn.

I've never done vegetables before as I was more into making it look nice than anything else. But this year I thought I'd try my hand as we have a good area of the back garden that seems ideal for a vegetable plot. SO I have about 50 onion plants growing, hundreds of carrots, about 15 cabbage plants that are going nicely and at the weekend I planted two rows of runner beans that supposedly should yield 60 lbs of beans if all goes well. I also have 6 Alisa Craig tomato plants -4 of which are just starting to flower so I've put 3 in a little mini-greenhouse thing outside now.

On top of this I have partially cut a border out of the back lawn and I have about 150 flower plants to go in, including lupins, scabious paper moons, gerberas, petunias, pansys, red hot pokers, godetias, ornamental tobacco plants, poached egg plants, calendulas and others which I forget at the moment (aubretia, oregano, coriander...)
I bought so many to mitigate losses that usually occur but they *all* seem to be going great guns. We'll have a packed border both front and back by the summer.
Hard work but marvellous too smiley - biggrin

Post 2

Phil

Sounds like you're having fun Orcus smiley - smiley
It should both look and taste good.

We're a long way from getting tomato plants out in the garden (still too cold and wet and they're far too small).

Post 3

Orcus

Ah well, I got all overexcited and planted them early. smiley - biggrin