A Conversation for How do I...?

...ace a technical interview

Post 1

Napier

...specifically, a technical interview, since I'm an engineer (electrical). I've had a few myself, and had prepatory mock interview type stuff, but I'm curious about other's experiences. Any hints, suggestions?

Post 2

Phil

Find out about the company's products. Know the basics on how they'll work (ie mobile phones -> radio, modulation types etc). If you're going be to faced with jargon or acronyms try and find out what the common ones are before, but don't be afraid to ask for clarification.
Things not to do are NOT to know about the basic theory/design ideas for whatever the company does. Don't tell them you know exactly where to look it up in the book. (Yep I've done both, it didn't work!)

Post 3

Martin Harper

This is a touch late now, but there you go...

Bluff and Lie. This starts at the CV stage. Try to intimate that you have a huge amount of expertise in a field they know nothing about, but fancy a change of field, because it bores you. Example: "Well I spent 2 years with Natwest, researching Game Theory and it's application to financial decisions, paying particular attention to the application of Hillinger's Equation. But that bored me, so now I've come here to flip burgers for you." Don't EVER make the mistake of reading up on relevant knowledge. You're limitations will be quickly discovered. If, on the other hand, you claim to never have heard of the topic, then anything you do know will make you sound very broad and well-read.