This is the Message Centre for Pastey

Here's a ponderer...

Post 1

Pastey

Should I get married again?

Ooh, controversial seeing as I'm not technically divorced yet.

The ex, whom some of you have had the pleasure of meeting, has filed the petition and I've got the forms to sign and send back, so it's underway.

But I was talking with the girlfriend this weekend and made a bit of an error. I'd always got the impression that she didn't want to get married, but it seems that it was a case of her not wanting to get married to her ex. She does however want to get married to me.

Now, I've just come out of a marriage, am still coming out of it. I was with the ex for just over tens years all told, so it's quite a long time. But I am so happy at the moment that I don't think I'd bat an eyelid before agreeing to get married straight away if she asked me to, which she hasn't done yet but I think she may.

I think I do want to get married again, but I'm not sure about the right away side of it.

The other thing that comes into the decision is that the girlfriend isn't enamoured to the idea of having kids. Which suited me fine as I never really wanted them either. Until recently. I'm that content and happy that I'd like to start a family with here.

So, if she asks, do I or don't I?

smiley - rose

Here's a ponderer...

Post 2

Fragilis - h2g2 Cured My Tabular Obsession

It's perfectly reasonable to wait until your divorce is finalized, as it's somewhat of a moot point until then anyway. However, this does mean that long delays on doing the paperwork may be viewed as stalling. I'd ask her to be patient, then offer a date by which you'd hope to have an answer for her. After what point is indecision its own answer?

The New York Times recently ran a neat article for people who are considering marrying that has advice from relationship experts on what to discuss. Several points relate to the question of having children.