A Conversation for Dial-A-Cola - An Introduction To m-commerce

mCommerce

Post 1

dracoverdi

I like your article, but I'm a system engineer so I have a lot of questions.

I've seen this service advertised as a future service here in California, but I don't know what market conditions will be required before it is actually offered here. Of course we won't get anything of the sort until they're sure they can make a lot of money from it and that you can't use it to share MP3s illegally, but what would be the other requirements for adoption?

Why would I want to funnel my soda purchase through my phone company? It's like having the gas man deliver milk. (I can't imagine who they'd have to call for a milk leak.)

Wouldn't I would have to fumble longer for my cell phone or PDA, which I don't yet have, than for change which I occasionally do have.

Finally a Pepsi costs four times what it is worth in a grocery store, and ten times what it is worth from a vending machine. I can just imagine the economic penalty for getting one this way. There is also the question of how much the ability to buy a Pepsi with my phone would cost me each month.

Would you have to pay more for a Pepsi purchased outside your home dialing area?

Have you noticed that the word "smart" when used to refer to electronic marvels means nearly the opposite of what you might expect. Like the American colloquialism "Bad" which unforeseeably means good. "smart" means "automatically stupid" These products are trying to automate not the delivery of the product but the decision of the consumer. In this case to buy a soda at an astronomical price.

When I was visiting England It seemed to me that you didn't have pay toilets, but this would be a natural market in the US (talk about fumbling!), particularly for frequent purchasers of Pepsi.

I suppose you could have the parking meter automatically debit the account of the owner of record of the closest car. That would really be convenient.

mCommerce

Post 2