A Conversation for Old Time Radio - Radio Theatre

Peer Review: A903296 - Old Time Radio - Radio Theatre

Post 1

Misk

Entry: Old Time Radio - Radio Theatre - A903296
Author: Misk - U211910

This is my first attempt at writing for the guide. I believe that it is ready to be considered for editing, but then again this is my first time and I may be totally wrong.

Many Thanks for your time

Paul

A903296 - Old Time Radio - Radio Theatre

Post 2

Zarquon's Singing Fish!

I'm surprised that this has sat in PR without any comment so far, Misk.

America had the Golden Age? Not sure I would agree with that. What about ITMA, Hancock's Half Hour and a whole load of other stuff I could mention. However these are not Radio Theatre, they're radio comedy - a different animal.

As I don't know huge amounts about BBC Radio Theatre, I can't really comment on what should be included as Radio Theatre, however I'm sure there are Researchers out there who can.

smiley - whistle

smiley - fishsmiley - musicalnote

Post 3

There is only one thing worse than being Gosho, and that is not being Gosho

And two weeks since your post ZSF!

There's a very nice entry here, which needs just a small amount of tidying and re-working. For instance:

"The true time span for what is commonly called “The Golden Age of Radio can be traced back too the First World War."
Is that really true? The BBC didn't begin broadcasting until the mid twenties, and I thought they were just about the first public broadcaster in the world. Should be 'to' not 'too' btw.

Both America and Britain had their own 'Golden Age', and I'd say that they pretty much ran simultaneously, with the American one ending slightly earlier because of the way that tv overtook America before it got its teeth into the Brits.

"Today there is very little radio produced other than the regular music channels"