A Conversation for Ask h2g2

Visiting New Zealand

Post 1

Two Bit Trigger Pumping Moron

My family and I are thinking about visiting New Zealand for Christmas break for about two weeks. Being sci fi and fantasy fans, we'd like to see some of the sites from the Lord of the Rings. I've read about some other sites,but we're looking for insights for this potentially once in a lifetime opportunity.

At first, we were thinking of a cruise, but I don't think we can make it work between school schedules and my leave balance. My latest thinking is to fly into Auckland and drive from there. I looked at one possible driving tour. We're open to other options.

smiley - 2cents

Visiting New Zealand

Post 2

You can call me TC

I have no experience of this, but do have a great time.

Genning up and planning is very important, especially as you're going somewhere so far away, so expensive, and only once in your lifetime. There are probably loads of travel blogs to plough through with various bits of information to be gleaned from each.

Leave no stone unturned: do read up as much as you can. See if you can locate ReddyFreddy - previously of this parish - who emigrated to Christchurch. I think he started a blog, too.

Visiting New Zealand

Post 3

Bald Bloke

Pastey went out there for a trip a few years ago, I've pinged him on Twitter with a link to the tread.

Visiting New Zealand

Post 4

Pastey

Hello!

Finally got my password reset!

We flew into Awkland, stayed a couple of nights in the Juicy Hotel (it's cheap but good) and then rented a camper from them for a couple of weeks and drove pretty much all over. Highly recommend it, depending on your lifestyle.
One thing to remember though, the whole "free camping" thing in NZ doesn't exist any more. There were too many tourists not cleaning up after themselves, so the government banned it to keep the country clean. There's loads of campsites though, and it's not expensive.