This is the Message Centre for

Hi There

Post 1

Flanker

Hi there and welcome to H2G2.

I am Flanker and I'm an Assistant Community Editor <./>ACE</.> which is a sort of official greeter.

Part of our job is to be there if any help is needed by a new researcher and make sure that they can find their way about the site.

To do this I thought you might like a quick list of places and things that are available to help you.

Firstly find out more about some of the jargon used on h2g2 try A632431 then if you want to jazz up your own user page then go to 'Spicing up your User Page' (A690518).

Another thing which will help you along the road is our newspaper <./>ThePost</.> which contains lots of news, articles and links to all the groups and meetings places.

Feisor, another <./> ACE </.>has created a page of hints and links for new researchers at A719840. which along with the <./>DontPanic</.> Help Centre (which can be reached via the 'Help!' button on the toolbar at the top.) are really good pages to start with.

One last thing is smiley - smiley (smileys). The full list is at <./>smileys</.> and you can find out more about them there.

I, personnally, tend to hang about <./>Askh2g2</.>, which is usually fairly busy. So I'll maybe catch you there.

If you have any questions, need any help or want a bit of encouragement simply reply to this message and I'll be there as soon as I can smiley - smiley.

HTH & HAND.

Flanker

smiley - cheers

Hi There

Post 2

Researcher 199620

Thanks Flanker. My best friend (well, he was...) is an editor of this site and has cajoled me into writing and posting an article on the Irish singer Enya as he seems to think I know a lot about her. His name is Jimster. I don't know if you know him or not.

Anyway, thanks for the tips and I promise I will only annoy you if I am desperate. I have tried to annoy him but he is too busy. He didn't comment when I told him that I though this site was his job. Hit a nerve I think...

Gaz

Hi There