This is the Message Centre for CKL

greetings CKL...

Post 1

Seven of Nine [(1x52)-2-8]x1=42!

Hi and welcome to h2g2. smiley - hug
My name is Seven of Nine and I am an Assistant Community Editor (ACE)
Just one of a group of researchers to like to meet, greet and hopefully befriend newcomers to the guide.smiley - cool
If I can be of any assistance to you at all, or you'd just like to chat, just click the reply button and I will returnsmiley - run
Have somesmiley - teasmiley - biggrin
Hope to see you around!
Happy Hitchhiking smiley - ok

~Seven~
smiley - starsmiley - starsmiley - starsmiley - starsmiley - starsmiley - starsmiley - star

greetings CKL...

Post 2

CKL

Hi Seven
Thanks for your greeting - how do you get those cool smileys in?

I would like to ask some things about what sort of topics should / should not get entries and what the style of the entries should be.

I went to one of the writing forums to get a sense of the format entries should be submitted in, and found an discussion on someone's first ever entry on "What would happen to you were you to be travelling at the speed of light". I thought it was quite a light-hearted piece, threw up a few interesting questions, but left them mostly unanswered.
I think it then went forward to peer review (perhaps prematurely), and although the idea for the entry was praised, a whole bunch of theoretical physicists seized on it, ripped the thing apart on a variety of scientific principles and bumped it down to one of the lesser discussion forums (?fora) before noting that the original author seemed not to be contributing much to the discussion, and had - indeed - completely disappeared (probably in tears, never to make a submission again, I shouldn't wonder!)