A Conversation for Pelican Crossings - Traffic signal controlled crossings found in the UK

A515783 - Pelican Crossings

Post 1

Would keep goats (butt it's hard in Twickenham)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/h2g2/guide/A515783

This is my first attempt at submitting for peer review. I wrote this back in January and was just ready to submit it and .....

J

Post 2

Mikey the Humming Mouse - A3938628 Learn More About the Edited Guide!

I admit I found this entry a bit confusing, starting with the title. Are these pedestrian crossings commonly called "pelican crossings" in the UK, or is this a term invented by the author? What is the connection with pelicans?

It would be worth pointing out in the title that the entry is specifically focused on pedestrian crossings in the UK, as the entry is not applicable to crossings in the US or Canada or Mexico (the 3 countries I've crossed traffic in....). smiley - smiley

Also, the last sentence is a bit too first person.

smiley - smiley
Mikey

Post 3

xyroth

Pelican crossings do seem to be a bit of a british idea, don't they. andthe name is right.

Post 4

Yes, I can only speak for British crossings. The ones I have described really are called Pelican crossings. I don't know why! I'm sure there are/were ones called Puffin Crossings - I'm not sure of the subtle differences although some crossings use radar detectors to check that they're free of pedestrians before letting the traffic loose.

There are certainly ones called "Toucan" crossings. These are designed to allow both pedestrians and bicycles safe passage at the point where a bicycle route needs to cross a busy road. As I believe that these are being funded by central government as part of a London bicycle network, as opposed from local tax, this might explain why the one 50 metres from my house, A "humped toucan crossing" no less, has a good 5 metres of cycle path on either side of it.

Oh, and I think it's a pun on "Two-can" as in people and cyclists.

Post 5