This is the Message Centre for You can call me TC

Another year

Post 1

You can call me TC

For about 15 years now I have been planning to write an entry about something which happens every year in the Carnival season. I've done it again, haven't I? Carnival season is over next Wednesday and the damn thing is still in note form. No way it'll make the front page on time. So now I have another year to polish it up! I think I'll just write it this weekend and ask for it to go on the front page next year.

Is next year h2g2's 20 year anniversary? Surely there's life in the old girl yet?

Another year

Post 2

SashaQ - happysad

As a Guide Editor, I say Do It!!!

If you write the Entry this weekend and put it in Peer Review, it will spend a few weeks there being read by reviewers before it is picked by a Scout. Then it will be in the process of being Sub-edited and illustrated for a few weeks, then it will be made Edited. Then it will join the queue for the Front Page, so that will be perfect for it to appear this time next year smiley - ok

Another year

Post 3

Wand'rin star

I look forward to it,
I've been around since October 1969 and Amy's trip proved I'm not the only onesmiley - star<star

Another year

Post 4

paulh, vaccinated against the Omigod Variant

I love carnivals! smiley - bigeyes

Another year

Post 5

You can call me TC

It's just that Carnival is at the coldest time of year in these parts. When I was a young gel, we were tripping in strappy high-heeled sandals through the snow. In the mid-seventies, before I had kids, and before anyone was worried about AIDS and other contagious diseases, the whole town would come out for the parade and bottles of Sekt and Schnapps would be passed down the street, everyone having a swig.

That alliteration is just crying out for a pome. Haven't written one in ages - not even a limerick. So here goes:

Streamers, booze and balloons
Jesters fools and buffoons
Four crazy wintery days
Of bingeing and sinful ways