A Conversation for Birmingham, The Midlands, UK

Birthplace of the Balti

Post 1

Is mise Duncan

Which is a curry dish cooked in a heavy iron wok like device (a balti - whence the name comes)
Lots of places will tell you this is a traditional Indian dish but it was, in fact, invented on the Stratford Road, Birmingham (UK) as a meal for the various workers going to/ from the British Leyland factories. The latter no longer exists, but the former have expanded to take over the UK fast food market....and are on their way to taking over the world!

If you are in Birmingham - visit the "Royal Naim" restaurant for the evidence smiley - smiley Yum!

Birthplace of the Balti

Post 2

Splatt!

Many fantastic Balti restaurants can be found in the Selly Oak area along Bristol Road (A38). If you can put up with all the students then try them out since there's always some sort of atmosphere. My preference is the Khanum (just opposite Tesco) where I graduated from Madrases to Vindaloos to Phalls before they offered to cook me up my own ridiculously hot dish (The Khanum Killer - and as of yet I'm the only one they've served it to.....and yes I am proud of that). They also have spicy mint sauce which is novel.

This year i have been mostly eating ....Chicken Bhunas (medium hot - strong tomato base)

Birthplace of the Balti

Post 3

Vestboy

Speak to me of table naans and restaurants which allow you to bring in your own drinks oh wise one. smiley - winkeye

Birthplace of the Balti

Post 4

Wand'rin star

The above-mentioned Royal Naim's on Stratford Road for one.

Birthplace of the Balti

Post 5

Splatt!

The above-named Khanum for another. It ahs no bar so you haave no choice but to bring in your own drinks from the handily-located "Liquor Locker" next door.

Birthplace of the Balti

Post 6

Is mise Duncan

There is also the "Star of India", in the city centre, which is the real McCoy Indian restaurant complete with cushions instead of chairs and magnificently turbanned waiters etc.