This is the Message Centre for Ormondroyd

Ormondroyd hits the half-century

Post 1

Ormondroyd

In just a couple of hours, I shall be 50 years old. I can hardly believe I'm typing that, and certainly I'm sure that many of those who knew me in my smiley - ale-addled youth and even more smiley - ale-addled thirties would be surprised to find that I've made it this far. But here I am, and I'm happy to report that I am in pretty good working order. My knees may creak a little these days, but I actually have more hair than I used to have: I've grown my first-ever beard for a forthcoming stage appearance as a smiley - pirate in a production of 'The Pirates of Penzance' (Theatre in the Mill, Bradford, March 25-27).

I was a student at the University of Bradford, doing another film studies course, in the latter part of last year, and I'm currently doing an IT qualification smiley - geek at Bradford College. As I'm running out of excuses for staying in academia as a student, I'm now trying to get into lecturing, and there seems to be a pretty good chance that they'll give me a shot at teaching a course on the history of popular music next year.

And life still sometimes brings unexpected adventures. Yesterday I visited one of Britain's most famous fictional pubs. I was working as an extra on 'Emmerdale', and played a bed and breakfast guest at the Woolpack. Some time around the end of April, viewers to the popular ITV soap will see me being shown a brochure of Yorkshire tourist attractions by one of the regular cast members, with whom I was asked to improvise a little dialogue to be heard at the start of the scene. Which was a little scary, but the director seemed very pleased with our efforts, so hopefully I'll be invited back to Emmerdale! smiley - biggrin

Ormondroyd hits the half-century with a cat-like tread!

Post 2

Granny Weatherwax - ACE - Hells Belle, Mother-in-Law from the Pit - Haunting near you on Saturday