A Conversation for How to Successfully Complain to a Call Centre

Recalling names...

Post 1

steff_allan

I'm in a call centre right now and would like to add that I really hate it when a customer remembers my name and acts nice to me, as it is just really obvious that it is very fake and I'd be more inclined to give them the usual treatment (I'm good at my job, so by that I mean nothing special)

Loved the article though smiley - blush

Recalling names...

Post 2

Ku'Reshtin (Bring the beat back!)

Working on a Tech Support desk for a major computer company I tend to feel the same way. I know it's part of the "rules" to try and reember the names of whomever you speak to, but when customers use your name repeatedly, it just irritates me after a while.

I do like to take care of "problem customers" though, because I have been working at the desk for about 4 years now and I do know what our responsibilities towards the customer is.
One thing that I know infuriates those borderine customers to no end is if you as a customer service representative treat them with politeness and just keep your calm at all times. Difficult customers are usually trying to get a rise out of you and make you lose your temper so that you snarl back at them, at which point they can make it a personal matter and turn the complaint against you as a person to take the focus off of his own problem. And if they get that focus off of their own problem, they can then twist it to look like you are not giving them the help they are entitled to.

Many are the times I've spoken to a customer that's been screaming ans shouting in my ear and when I've then transfered to my Team Leader since no one was making any headway either way, they're as nice and polite as kittens after a meal.

Customers are weird, though.smiley - smiley

Recalling names...

Post 3

Ferrettbadger. The Renegade Master

Interesting.