A Conversation for Non-subjective Comedy

Jokes etc.

Post 1

Greebo

"that does not require one to be canine-insensitive, or to even know what a dog (or a nose for that matter) is."
- Surely it is impossible for that joke to exist, because that would require the joke to contian no objects what so ever? Everyone when telling a joke, generally would have to assume that everyone knows, at least, what they name in the course of the joke is. It is more or less a requirement for the joke to be funny.
You aren't going to get a joke that runs like:
"Why did the unidentifiable and unnamed object cross the road?"
As it isn't funny and therefore not a joke (plus it assumes that you know what a road is).

The most basic child's joke assumes that you know at least two objects
"chicken" and "road" (same joke as above).

On a similar note, you also can't get a joke that only a very select amount of people will understand smiley - sadfaceThe following is completely made up as I have no knowledge of various cells, chemicals or their names)

*Scientist telling a joke to another*
"What did the heamogobularistic cell say to the graphticular virus?"
"Dunno"
"globolobolob"

See?

So after all my ramblings, what I'm trying to say is that no non-subjective joke can exist.

Jokes etc.

Post 2

Greebo

damn it!

ammendment to the last line, it reads
"can exist" which defeats the entire post
It shoulda read
"cannot exist"

Jokes etc.

Post 3

django

On one level I agree with you. To tell a joke it must contain objects that both you and the jokes recipient understand and recognise to be the same. If either (Or both) of you haven't the faintest idea what a "wrangle rotary engine" is or why its so unusual to find one in a chicken coup, then the joke will not and can not work. To tell a joke basic assumptions have to be made based on common knowledge and experience.