A Conversation for Driving Etiquette - Thailand

Flashing headlamps

Post 1

Captain Kebab

Flashing headlamps does not mean don't go in the UK, nor does it mean, go, after you, or get out of the way.

To quote the Highway Code, "Flashing your headlights means only one thing - it lets another road user know you are there." Just like the horn, it should be used only as a warning.

Many British motorists use it to mean 'after you', many also use it to say thank you. It's also commonly used to berate the car in front for going too slowly in the opinion of the flasher. And it's quite often used because a motorist recognises a friend coming in the opposite direction. Confusing.

In a previous life as a driving instructor, I always advised my students not to flash their headlamps at all, and that if they saw another motorist flash they should only assume that the headlamps are working on the other car.

Flashing headlamps

Post 2

Pond_Rat [life is weird - laugh at it.]

In Oz it usually means coppers about so SLOW down...

Flashing headlamps

Post 3

Kay Ess

You're right. I should have written that in the UK it means the same as using your horn.

In the sense that I said it I meant the common occurance where somebody waits for you and gives you a 'flash' of their lights which means 'go on'. The footnote should have been more complete.

Flashing headlamps

Post 4

sukhumvit

Well, in Thailand it definitely means "Look out! I'm coming, so get out of my way." smiley - yikes

Flashing headlamps

Post 5

terrymaz