A Conversation for Taxonomy


Post 1


Recently (not sure when) there became 6 kingdoms: Animalia, Plantae, Fungi, Protista, Bacteria, and Archaea. Both bacteria and archaea are prokaryotic, unicellular organisms but there are which I could not tell you because I am only in high school biology but just incase someone wanted to look in depth into this. The archaea are a kind of bacteria that survive in extremes such as hot springs, or springs with high acidity.


Post 2


Nearly bit archae (of old called archaebacteria) are not a kind of bacteria at all, that's why they're now in a different kingdom smiley - winkeye
They just seem like bacteria as they are single celled prokaryotes, their cellular make up is quite different though. Also, although some do live in extreme temperatures, there are plenty that don't also.

Key: Complain about this post

Write an Entry

"The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy is a wholly remarkable book. It has been compiled and recompiled many times and under many different editorships. It contains contributions from countless numbers of travellers and researchers."

Write an entry
Read more