A Conversation for Ask h2g2

Where did you come from and why?

Post 61

benjaminpmoore

Is anyone on h2g2 not from in or around stevenage?

Post 62

Orcus

Blimey.

OK, I was born in Stoke-on-Trent to Scottish parents.

However, I grew up in Bedford which is now, I understand things a bit better - scarily close to both Stevenage *and Hitching* smiley - yikes

Fortunately for me I left running at the age of 18 and have since lived in Oxford, Southampton, St. Andrews, Birmingham and (now) Cardiff.

I discovered hootoo through a housemate who I was having a conversation with about HHGTTG when I lived in Brum in 1999 and have been here ever since apart from an early Elvis for about a year in 2000. I came back just in time for Rupert.

Scarily however, one of my closest mate from when I was an undergrad works for GlaxoWellcome. Hence...

he works in Stevenage and...

lives in Hitchin smiley - yikes

Post 63

benjaminpmoore

This is becoming terrifying.

Post 64

Rod

Indeed it is, benjaminp, am I going to have to leave just because I don't?

Post 65

MMF - Keeper of Mustelids, with added P.M.A., is now in a relationship.

Born in Bedford, in the thickest fog in modern memory. Ambulance missed the entrance and had to be directed in by the Midwife. Been late ever since.
Subsequently Yaxeley, Burton upon Trent and Ramsgate, which I consider my home town. Escaped to Manchester in 1978 to go to college (because relatives lived, and still live, in N W Manchester. Returned to Ramsgate in 1980 then moved to London in 1986 where I lived in a variety of areas but now in Brentford, soon to be renamed Kew Bridge... Probably.

And my link to Hitchin? My Paternal Uncle moved from Chesham to Hitchin 20 years ago and still lives there, and there Daughter lives in Letchworth. A small smiley - earth.