A Conversation for The Ultimate Chocolate Cake

Clearly you are insane.

Post 1

Scott Bennett-AKA Scoop

How can this have got past the moderators? Clearly it is not the 'Ultimate' chocolate cake. If it were it would not be full of substandard ingredients like cooking chocolate!
Where's the belgian 70% cocoa mass chocolate?
I am not pleased.
smiley - grr

Clearly you are insane.

Post 2

Scott Bennett-AKA Scoop

PS I do have a recipe I regard as pretty ultimate but unfortunatly I cannot divulge it (family secret passed down by cooks in each generation I'm afraid)
However Nigella Lawson has got some pretty spankingly good ones in 'How to be a Domestic Goddess' and Nigel Slaters in 'Appetite' ain't half bad.

A Factual Question.

Post 3

Marc C. DuQuesne

As an amateur baker I was very interested in this recipe. Just a quick question though. Is Caster sugar the same as what we know in the US as white or granulated sugar? Judging from the recipe I am pretty sure I am right on this but I would like to get some confirmation before I risk my ingredients. As a sidelight, do you know where that designation comes from? Is Caster a name or somehow descriptive? Thanks in Advance for the help.

MCDQ

A Factual Question.

Post 4

MrsCloud

granulated suger we have over here too, castor sugar is lot finer. granulated sugar can useually be used but in some cases it can give what ever you are baking a grainy/gritting texture. castor sugar gives it a softer texture.

A Factual Question.

Post 5

Spoo Monkey

so Caster = powdered, essentially

A Factual Question.

Post 6

MrsCloud

not quite i think, icing sugar is i guess what i'd consider powered sugar, your best bet with this is just to try it with granulated.

A Factual Question.

Post 7

Scott Bennett-AKA Scoop

Yeah I say go with the granulated too. It should work ok but be sure to fold the mixture carefully to try and kep some air in to help keep it lighter.