This is the Message Centre for There is only one thing worse than being Gosho, and that is not being Gosho

Could you say that in English please?

Post 1

There is only one thing worse than being Gosho, and that is not being Gosho

The marketisation of access to housing security is central to the increasingly normative experience of housing precarity in London.
http://www.opendemocracy.net/opensecurity/hannah-schling/eviction-brixton-creating-housing-insecurity-in-london

smiley - huh

As an aside, Geggs was talking about irony earlier today in his journal. I can't fail to see the irony of this story since it involves Lambeth council - once at the forefront of the right-on left wing London councils (the 'loony left') during the 80s. I was a resident of one of those for a while - Tower Hamlets - and it was no bad thing. Plus, we had this organisation called the GLC which was run by some folks who thought helping poorer people to have a life that's a little less nasty, brutish and short was a good idea.

I wonder where that idea went smiley - sadface

Post 2

"Organising around the Living Wage is a policy development that is really linked to the lives of ordinary people"
http://i.imgur.com/GQmhKeK.jpg

How about 'It's a good thing to pay people enough money to live on'? smiley - rolleyes

Post 3

2legs - Hey, babe, take a walk on the wild side...

There hasn't, ever, to my knowledge, (or during my lifetime at least), ever been any talk, in the political arina, of 'controlling' the housing market, and in particular ntrolling the utterly out of control price of houses... in fact, the governments we've had during my lifetime seem to have decided out of control unrealistic house prices is the way to go, and soemthign to be encouraged; Not least in all governments inability to provide sufficient 'council housing', (or whatever one wants to call it), and their inability to do anything at all about taking care of the housing shortage.