A Conversation for The Sub-editors' Home Page

Request from Beeblefish

Post 1

Beeblefish

Dear Guide Editors,

Hello! I wanted to write you to introduce myself and seek your permission and help for finishing a research project on the Guide, one I started in 2005 during my PhD. My name is Nathan Rambukkana, or Beeblefish on the Guide. My apologies if I cannot remember knowing more of you than I should. Bluebottle I know of old, of course, and other names are familiar (GB, Magwich) others less so, but my memory is a bit sieve-like at times. I was a field researcher and then sub-editor since 1999, though sadly a lapsed one due to grad school. I did come back for a while though in 2005.

At the time, I was interested in complicating academic discussions about the ownership of online community sites since much of what had been written was about the conflict between owners and community members, since my experience with the Guide showed me that it was a lot more complex than this. There was conflict for sure (remember the Zaphodistas?) but the owners and editors—the italics—were also part of the community, cared about the community. For a PhD paper I wrote up a short history of the Guide, the conflicts about advertising, the homepage/ My space wars and finally the punchline: the BBC move and how the community aspect saved the Guide from the dot.com crash.