This is the Message Centre for coelacanth

coelacanth's NaJoPoMo 2014

Post 1

coelacanth

I managed it last year, a journal a day for a month seemed quite daunting for someone who hardly ever writes on, but here we are again!

I'll stick to one thread, 1st November in #2, which will in fact be a tale of what I was doing a week ago.

1st November

Post 2

coelacanth

What I did last Saturday, 25th October.

I was in the audience of Strictly! I applied for most dates last year, with no luck. But on the 6th October I was at work when I got a text message:

"Congratulations. Your application for tickets to Strictly Come Dancing on 25/10/14 has been successful. Please check your email for your tickets"

Woo hoo! Just the thing for the first weekend of Half Term, so I sent a quick text to Sunshine to check she could come too. That evening I did some online research about the arrangements. BBC events are run well, I've been attending recordings since back in ye when as a student I used to go to "In Concert" at the Paris Studios in Lower Regent Street.

Strictly is a loooong day. They send out far more e-tickets than there are seats, assuming that quite a lot of people won't go. So at 8am we got to Boreham Wood, with folding chairs and several layers of warm clothes and joined about 50 others. Time passed quite quickly, there's a big Tesco for food and drink and people were very friendly. The queue grew to about 400 people as the morning went on. At 12.30 the stewards went along the line and put a numbered sticker on the tickets. That's the order to go in the evening. We were 74 and 75, and told to return at about 3.15.