A Conversation for Orchestras

Leader of the Orchestra?

Post 1

Woodlark

>Both sections have a Principal: the Principal First Violinist is known as the Leader of the Orchestra

I have only heard the Principal First Violinist referred to as the Concertmaster. This is my first time hearing LotO. Is this a regional thing or are there really two acceptable titles for him?

Leader of the Orchestra?

Post 2

Bernadette Lynn_ Home Educator

As far as I know Concertmaster is more common on the continent than in Britain, and I'm afraid I don't know about the rest of the world, so it may be a regional thing.

Every orchestra I've played in the first violinist has been billed as the Leader.

Thankyou for reminding me of the other title: as this is meant to be a global guide, I really should have put that in first, but I'd forgotten. smiley - smiley

Leader of the Orchestra?

Post 3

zathras

As far as I know, in symphony orchestras the first chair first violinist is referred to as the concertmaster (or in some cases concertmistress). He or she even gets special recognition. The concertmaster is usually the last muscian to enter the stage before the conductor. He or she also initiates tuning (which is vitally important, especially with strings). Then the conductor enters and the music begins under his direction.
In the first violin section, the concertmaster is the most likely to perform short solos within certain pieces of music. Such is also the case with the principals of each other section (cellos, violas, basses).
In some large orchestras, the first violin section also has a principal in addition to the concertmaster. I'm not aware of any special duties by this member apart from those of the concertmaster, but they may learn more toward keeping track of music and so forth. That, and turning pages for the concertmaster.

What I'd like to see someday is an orchestra with a viola or cello concertmaster. That would be interesting.

Leader of the Orchestra?

Post 4